Jasper’s story of coming into this world

Here is something I wrote back in 2013.

9-15-13

Hi, I thought I would tell you a little bit about my story, my story of having a child.   I got pregnant the summer after I graduated from high school I was 18 years old, working, and trying to live my life to the fullest and trying to get my life together.  I’ll never forget one of my husband’s friends at graduation telling us don’t go getting pregnant and then not even the end of summer comes and I am pregnant

.On August 4, 2012 I took a pregnancy test and it came back positive. I didn’t want to believe it, I didn’t feel like I thought I would when I got pregnant, I didn’t think it was real, it felt like I was having a crazy dream, I didn’t know if I was ready for a child, a child to call mine, a child to watch over 24/7. I knew I wanted children and I also knew I didn’t want to be 30 before I had my first child but I didn’t think I would be 18. My plans where to start college after right after high school but once again choices I had made had pushed off my college plans till a year after I graduated high school. I didn’t think I would ever start showing. I thought it would hit me when I started seeing my body change, also feeling the baby move. I didn’t start showing decent till I was like 26 weeks pregnant. I could tell I was pregnant and people that I knew, knew I was pregnant but I could hide it very well. I don’t know about you but all girls have this fear of them numbers we see on the scales. I know I was scared when I first saw those numbers go up, up and up but I never gained it too fast.  I gained like 37 pounds. The doctor’s appointment I had just a few days before I had my son I weighted a weight I never wanted to see again, a weight I promised myself I would never see again even if I was pregnant. I cried like a big baby because I was scared I would never lose the baby weight that I would never fit back into my pre baby weight. But I have to say I have. I CAN FIT MY PRE BABY WEIGHT PANTS!

I was due on April7th, 2013 but Jasper didn’t decide to come till the 11th. When I went to the doctor the week before I was due and they said that if he hasn’t come by the 7th that I would have to induced. I didn’t want to be induced I felt like I couldn’t fully full my duties as a woman also I heard it was way worse to be induced contractions wise. They set me up for April the 12 if I had not went into labor before then. I have to say that I was expecting labor to hurt but I was not expecting me to be in pain for a week before I had him. I was having back labor (they call it) for a week before I had Jasper. I could barely stand myself after a while because it hurt and it would not let off. A few days before I had Jasper I went to the hospital because I was hurting and I didn’t know why.  They just sent me home telling me I was having back labor and when my contractions got regular 7 minute apart and or my water breaks to come back. Well I wound up going to the hospital a few times before I actually went and stayed. I was hurting so bad I couldn’t sleep and I felt sick to my stomach and was throwing up.  The night before I had Jasper I stayed up till the pain I was having in my back let up enough where I can sleep. I was already sleeping on an air mattress because my bed was too hard, too soft, too something and I couldn’t rest on it at all. I went to sleep and I woke up like 30 minutes after going to sleep wet, around 12:30am. I thought I peed on myself so I went and woke up my mom and I asked her how I would know for sure that my water had broken. She said wait a second and I would know if my water had broken or not and surely enough my water had broken. I felt like I peed myself once again and I told her “Yes, my water had broken.” I didn’t feel any different than I have been although I water poring out of me. I asked her to go wake Michael up where I could go to the bathroom and get out of them wet clothes. I didn’t wake him up because he had to be at work in a couple of hours and I wasn’t sure if I was in labor or not. We my mom, Miss Dixie (Michael’s mom), Michael and I left for the hospital and was there a little after 1am on the 11th of April. I got there and they checked me out and I was not in labor, my contraction where not there but my water had broken and I was a few centimeters dilated. They admitted me to a room and told me that we had to get my contractions to start.  So they hooked me to an IV with fluids. They gave me a pill to help soften my cervix which they told me sometimes with some woman that it helps because contractions, it’s like a boost to help them come on.

I was hoping that it would work because they said if I had not started having contractions by 7am that morning that they would have to induce me. They asked if I wanted anything for the pain since my back hurt. I said yes because I wanted to sleep, I had not slept well in a week. They also done an ultrasound to see what way Jasper was laying because I was having back labor they thought he could have been turned the wrong way, but he was head down. I did not want to have any kind of pain killers when I had Jasper; I wanted to have him naturally. I remember going to sleep around 3-3:30am. I remember waking up because my contractions where coming on and then I went back to sleep. I woke up a little after 11am with my contractions hurting badly, although they were never regular. I could not lay on my back because my back hurt so bad so I tried the squat bar but I couldn’t do it I wasn’t comfortable so I decided that I would dry the birthing ball. The time rights before I had Jasper the nurse check me and the baby and she said he had a head full of hair. I looked at Michael and was like “What?” A head full of hair wasn’t what I was expecting. I felt like Jasper was coming out of my butt (Michael will never let that one go). All the pressure was my back and my backside when everyone told me I would feel it in my lower stomach but I never did. I felt myself ripping but it honestly just burned. I was so relieved when he finely came out. I was in hard labor for like an hour. I didn’t mind having Jasper or hurting when I had him I didn’t like the after effects of ripping. I ripped a good bit and I hated those stiches and I hated that sometimes they pulled and the worst part was the ripping I feel as if it would have been a great labor if I didn’t rip like I did. Although I couldn’t had asked for a better labor I just wish I didn’t rip because the after effects I didn’t like. Traci (my nurse) was awesome; I really liked her I couldn’t have asked for a better nurse.

After I had my baby

Jasper Maxwell Chapman

April 11, 13 at12:37pm

8lbs 2 oz

21 Inches long

I could not believe how big he was when he was born.  I was amazed at how much I loved him. I sometimes do not want to let him down because time passes fast way to fast and I love him very much! It seems unreal to me a mom, to have a son, to be blessed as much as I am. I wake up every morning well mostly every morning to a son who looks up at me with those big blue eyes and the sweetest gummy smile there ever was and I think to myself how blessed I am and that Michael and I are really lucky to have a handsome son that God allowed us to have. Children are greatest gift you can ever have. They grow up so fast I cannot believe Jasper is 5 months old. He has grown so much so fast. I love him very much

Leave a Reply

